top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTharun Kumar

My review of the Harry Potter audio books – Jim Dale Vs. Stephen Fry

The Harry Potter series is narrated by Jim Dale and Stephen Fry, both British actors who are well known. Jim Dale narrated the American versions of the audiobook editions, while Stephen Fry did the British versions. While I was writing this article, I have listened to the audio of Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone/Sorcerer’s Stone. Here is what I noticed from the two different audiobooks of the first Harry Potter book.


Jim Dale creates a lot of unique voices for different characters. This makes it more interesting to listen to. Stephen Fry creates suspense in his narration better. This results in being interested in the plot and curious to know what comes next.


Jim Dale’s narration is a little slower than Stephen Fry’s narration. So, depending on what pace you want the narration to be while you’re imagining the story, you can choose whose audio to listen to.


Overall, both of them have read it well and it is fun to listen to both versions. They are available on the internet if you ever wish to listen to the audiobooks. The only difference is that some words are in British English or American English. But it shouldn’t deter you from enjoying all the same.


I’m yet to listen to the audiobooks from Book Two (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets) onwards, which I definitely look forward to!


BTW, if you wish to read the Harry Potter series, there are a plethora of options for you. You can read it for free online like I did the first time I read the Harry Potter series! I read the seven books online in 2019-2020 and don't have the links with me now, but am sure you'll find them with a simple Google search. Or else the books are always there in physical form.




68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page